Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Non user entered data

Hey Guys,

I am pretty new to web flow, so please forgive me if this is a silly question. I have a basic web flow setup with JSPs and model classes. I don't have any form beans or controllers. I use the model class to directly bind with JSP elements so that spring can do all the wiring for me. Once submitted i do validation and other back end calculations on the user submitted data. There is one JSP in which i have a list of links coming from a backend which are shown on the page. I need to capture what link the user clicked on and act accordingly (branch of to a different view state). I am not sure how to achieve this in the web flow way of doing things. Till now now i only had <form:input> tags and submit buttons which took care of user input, but i am not sure how to capture what the user clicked on. Any help is appreciated.

After looking at the examples in the spring web flow zip file, it looks like i need something like what swf-booking-mvc\src\main\webapp\WEB-INF\hotels\search.jsp does in the swf-booking-mvc example. Its using a view controlled by a Spring Controller to handle a user click

Code:
    <a href="show?id=${hotel.id}">View Hotel</a>
    Somehow this request gets mapped to

Code:
     @RequestMapping(method = RequestMethod.GET)
        public Hotel show(@RequestParam("id") Long id) {
    	return bookingService.findHotelById(id);
        }
    in src\main\java\org\springframework\webflow\samples\ booking\HotelsController.java

My question is how does the /show?id gets mapped to the show method in HotelsController and also the show method returns a Hotel object and not a ModelAndView..how does search.jsp gets displayed with the hotel object populated? Any help is appreciated.

Comment