X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need help passing validated form data to business layer

I'm very new to Spring an SWF, so please bear with me. I'm trying to understand how to access form data after the bindAndValidate step has completed so that I may use it in my business layer to write data to the database.

I have looked at all the examples and tried to integrate portions of them, but they are so specific and barely commented that I have no idea why certain code pieces are used there and not in other samples.

I have tried the following, which is nowhere near as clean or simple as <spring:bind>:

Code:
    context.getRequestScope&#40;&#41;.getAttribute&#40;"query.email"&#41;
    context.getRequestScope&#40;&#41;.getAttribute&#40;"email"&#41;

context.getFlowScope&#40;&#41;.getAttribute&#40;"query.email"&#41;
    context.getFlowScope&#40;&#41;.getAttribute&#40;"email"&#41;

context.getSourceEvent&#40;&#41;.getAttribute&#40;"query.email"&#41;
    context.getSourceEvent&#40;&#41;.getAttribute&#40;"email"&#41;
    Where 'query' is a FormObject I am using in validation. Isn't there a simpler way to access this data? I can't really see any other purpose to SWF than to receive and process data input, so why isn't this simpler to use?

This is my flow:
    order-flow.xml:
    Code:
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
    <!DOCTYPE webflow PUBLIC "-//SPRING//DTD WEBFLOW//EN"
    	"http&#58;//www.springframework.org/dtd/spring-webflow.dtd">

<webflow id="orderProcess" start-state="orderLogin">

<view-state id="orderLogin" view="orderLoginForm">
    		<transition on="submit" to="userLookupOrInsert">
    			<action bean="orderActions" method="bindAndValidate">
    				<property name="validatorMethod" value="validateOrderLogin"/>
    			</action>
    		</transition>
        </view-state>

<action-state id="userLookupOrInsert">
    		<action bean="userActions" method="userLookupOrInsert"/>