Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Problems with redirect to external page or to new flow

Hi,
    Firstly, I am rather new to Spring Webflow so any help would be appreciated.

We're running in a Portlet environment and we just migrated from Webflow 1 to Webflow 2. (2.05 I believe). One of the functionality that did not port very well was flow redirects on end states.

I see that there is a very short paragraph on the Spring Webflow Documentation but I was just wondering what would be good ways to solve my problem. I would deeply appreciate any examples of how to do this. (note the documentation suggests something along the lines of implementing a flow handler but I wasn't too sure on how to do this)

There are two things that I need achieved from an end state.
    a) external redirect to some other jsp page
    b) flow redirect to another flow (basically ending the current flow and starting fresh!)

Not too sure if we ever got 'a)' to work. I believe we had "view=X" (where X is the location of an external page) attribute on the end state. How do we achieve that in Webflow 2?

As for 'b)', this was working in Webflow 1 where we did:
    end-state view="flowRedirect:some-other-flow" and that worked fine. How would I achieve this in Webflow 2?

Any help would be GREATLY appreciated. Thanks in advance.
    Last edited by springster; Mar 17th, 2009, 01:40 PM.

From the schema at http://static.springframework.org/sc...bflow-2.0.xsd:

The name of a view to render as a final flow response. Is often not specified when the caller handles this flow outcome and cares for the response.
    When specified, the value can be a flow-relative path to a view template:

<pre>
    priceForm.jsp
    </pre>

It can also be an evaluatable expression:

<pre>
    ${flowScope.myViewExpression}
    </pre>