Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need help with complex/dynamic flow

Hey everyone,

I'm new to Spring Web Flow 2 (but not new to Spring or Spring MVC) and am trying to transition a portlet (JA-SIG uPortal's MailPortlet) to use Spring Web Flow 2 and am having some trouble figuring out a flow config that will fit the requirements.

I've read through the Portlet Integration section of the Spring Web Flow Reference Guide and with help from Eric Dalquist (uPortal developer) and that guide, I think I have the portlet.xml and web.xml stuff figured out, so I started on the flow.

I'm mostly just looking for just a few pointers anyone could provide, since what I'm trying to do seems more complex than what info provided about how to author a flow as described in the web flow reference guide.

Sorry in advance that this post is so long.

That said, here is what I'm aiming for:

Tabbed Mail Accounts and Mail List View

* When the portlet is first loaded, it should go into a view state comprised of a list of the user's active mail accounts, each represented as a series of tabs across the top of the portlet (these are to be loaded by a service in the portlet). The initial tab that is selected is either the first index, or the last tab the user chose (from user's preferences stored in DB, so would persist even if session is terminated).
    * In the body of the portlet under the tabs is the list of the top N emails from the selected tab's mail account. During view, these are only loaded (the mailService is only called) for the active tab.
    * User can click on tab to select a different mail account which should call mailService to get mail for that account.
    * It is probably not a good idea for all mail to be gathered at once, so the mailService should only be called for the selected Mail Account's tab that is displayed.