X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to display informational messages using MessageContext

I'm a swf newbie, and I thank SpringSource for this great technology...

I'm perplexed as to how to display informational messages from a MessageContext that were set within a custom action. The documentation states "Use messageContext to access a context for retrieving and creating flow execution messages,
    including error and success messages. See the MessageContext Javadocs for more information." Okay, so I do that and no further information can be found. Also, I can't seem to find any examples of of displaying "success" or other non-error messages in the sample apps, or examples in this forum.

Well, I'm a resourceful guy, so I tried using JSTL to iterate over the messages in a JSP:

Code:
    <c:forEach items="${messageContext.allMessages}" var="message">
       ${message.text}
    </c:forEach>
    But no messages show up.

So FINALLY, I try this hack in my action code:

context.getFlashScope().put("messageContext", context.getMessageContext());

And the above works.

Surely there must be a better way to do this?!?

Thanks for your help.

You can access flowRequestContext.messageContext. We should consider making the messageContext available directly as a model attribute in a future release.

Keith

Comment

Duh... Thanks Keith.

It seems like I should have figured that one out pretty easily, but I think the way the word "request" is used in swf has been confusing me. I've finally got it through my thick skull that a swf "request" is not an HTTP request. So, I guess I didn't think the request context available in the page would be the same one that was part of the original request.

My info messages can now be displayed with this:

Code:
        <c:forEach items="${flowRequestContext.messageContext.allMessages}" var="message">
          <c:if test="${message.severity eq 'Info'}">