Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• OAuth, security policies & permissions

Hello,

I am studying the OAuth implementation and I am curious about the support for fine-grained permissions. I have a first use case, and wonder if/how it is supported by Spring Social.

The OAuth Service Provider is an application that allows people to manage photo albums. They can create albums, upload photos & metadata, organize their photos, etc. (think of it as a Flickr-like app).

What I would like, is to define a security policy for the OAuth Service Provider that would allow me: i) to have a read and a write permissions (allowing the consumer to retrieve photos, resp. to upload/delete photos after getting user approval) and ii) to have different permissions for every photo album (there could be a "public" album that oauth consumers can access, and a "private" one that oauth consumers cannot access.

I understand that when the user is redirected to the Service Provider site at te beginning of the authorization process, it is the responsibility of the Service Provider to present a UI to ask the user what permissions he wants to grant.

I then imagine that the Service Provider has to request a token, and that the specific permissions have to indicated. What happens then? Is it up to the Service Provider to keep track of all the granted tokens and how they map to the tokens? Is that something that is supported by Spring Social?

Tokens

From what I understand, looking at the greenhouse example application, the AppConnection table contains the access tokens for the user.

When the user grants access to an OAuth consumer, then an entry is created in this table. Based on my observations, this record stays in the table until there is an explicit "disconnect" by the user. In other words, there does not seem to be an expiration mechanism for request tokens.