Announcement Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.
Autowire Environment interface to spring social showcase example always return NULL!! Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Autowire Environment interface to spring social showcase example always return NULL!!

hi, I am new to Spring and Spring social. I was trying to modify the existing spring social showcase example to change the data source to Apache Basic Data Source pointing to local MySQL database. However, when I autowire/inject Environment class to get the jdbc url from application.properties file, I always got null value

The AppConfig class is the same as the MainConfig on spring showcase GitHub except I added environment injection

Code:

@Configuration
    @ComponentScan(basePackages = "org.springframework.social.showcase")
    @PropertySource("classpath:org/springframework/social/showcase/config/application.properties")
    @EnableTransactionManagement
    public class AppConfig {

@Autowired
    	Environment environment;

@Bean(destroyMethod = "shutdown")
    	public DataSource dataSource() {
    		environment.getProperty("jdbc.url");
    I am sure the application.properties contains a property named "jdbc.url". The null pointer exception happened when spring application is starting. Below is the stacktrace:

Code:

Caused by: org.springframework.beans.factory.BeanDefinitionStoreException: Factory method [public javax.sql.DataSource org.springframework.social.showcase.config.AppConfig.dataSource()] threw exception; nested exception is java.lang.NullPointerException
    	at org.springframework.beans.factory.support.SimpleInstantiationStrategy.instantiate(SimpleInstantiationStrategy.java:181)
    	at org.springframework.beans.factory.support.ConstructorResolver.instantiateUsingFactoryMethod(ConstructorResolver.java:570)
    	... 60 more
    Caused by: java.lang.NullPointerException