X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Programmatically obtaining the OAuth1 verifier from Twitter

I'm a newbie to both the social framework and twitter in general. Using console quick start example, I've been able to authenticate and update my status successfully. However, the example code obtains a verifier value by launching a web browser to navigate the authentication URL as seen here:

string authenticateUrl = twitterServiceProvider.OAuthOperations.BuildAuthen ticateUrl(oauthToken.Value, null);
    Process.Start(authenticateUrl);

The return value is then manually entered through the UI such that a request token can obtained.

Console.WriteLine("Enter PIN Code from Twitter authorization page:");
    string pinCode = Console.ReadLine();
    AuthorizedRequestToken requestToken = new AuthorizedRequestToken(oauthToken, pinCode);

While this basic process works well for interactive applications, my application is a background process and providing a UI would defeat my purpose.

With that said, how can I obtain the verifier code progratically without launching a browser and manually entering the verifier (pin code in the above example)?

Any help and suggestions are greatly appreciated.
    Last edited by Dave Syer; Nov 26th, 2012, 08:02 AM. Reason: remove duplicate (copy-paste error)?

In OAuth 1.0a (which is what Twitter implements), there is no way to get an access token without performing at least some of the work in a web browser. That's because OAuth 1.0/1.0a is entirely committed to getting the user to authorize your application via the provider (Twitter in this case) and not letting the application obtain authorization on its own. The bulk of the authorization is between the user and Twitter and your application would just be the recipient of the authorization when it's done.