X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Externalizing ChannelSet Config WIth Spring Actionscript

Here are a few tips gained from how I managed to externalize ChannelSet configuration in a Flex Client using Spring Actionscript (SAS).

Disclaimers
    1) I'm pretty new at this, but what I've done works
    2) Parsley or Swiz or whatever other framework may be better but I used SAS because it leverages what little I know about Spring Framework for Java.
    3) These are just notes on things that caught me - you need to read the SAS documentation carefully, it is very clear and precise, but some important details are easy to miss if you go too quickly

Problem:

I have an Flex client and want it to talk to one server during test and another after deployment. In fact there are several deployments of the same application differing exclusively by which server they talk to.

The examples of Flex-Blaze integration I see out there tend to have the channel set hard-coded in the client and clearly this will not work for me (or you?). The examples often acknowledge that hard-coding is bad practice and say "use a framework like Spring Actionscript, Swiz or Parsley". So I did. Here's what I learned:

1) download SAS *with dependencies* (Obvious, right? Wasn't to me.)

2) Make sure you add both the SAS "dist" and "lib" directories to your Flex Builder Path. (Aside: there's other cool stuff in the as3-commons libraries - I like their Assert class for example.)

3) Set the Flex Compiler Option -keep-as3-metadata += Autowired. You want Autowired because it will let you grab stuff from the SAS context whenever you need it. Like, for example, any place you want to create a service and configure it with a channelSet from the context.

4) write your context configuration XML file as per the documentation. In mine I configure a channelSet as follows when working against a local server - and then simply change it when I deploy.
    Code: