X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Processing form using a Controller w/ multiple submit button

I am new to Spring and can't figure out how to handle a submit with multiple submit buttons using one of Springs Controllers. The success view depends on which button the user clicks. For example, if a user clicks the add button they go to the add view and if the user clicks the delete button then they go to the delete view. Since the SimpleFormController is only allow 1 success view then I am unable to use this straight out of the box. I thought about adding custom properties to the controller bean definition defining the add, edit, and delete views and then ignoring the success view but I wasn't sure if this was the right way to implement this functionality. Could someone please suggest some ways to handle this functionality?

Thanks in advanced!!

You can either use the MultiActionController or map the different actions to unqiue URLs (which you will end up doing anyway). There is then no need to go via any controller, the "add" button can simply be a link to "add.html" etc.

Comment

I beleive as suggested the MultiActionController is designed for what you want to do.
      However I've never used it: I've gone the route of a SimpleFormContoller with, as you suggest, custom properties for other views, and testing the button clicked in the controller to control the processing and the view returned.
      I think that's a perfectly valid approach.

HTH

Comment

Spring 2.5 annotation:

if the form has these buttons specified:

<input type="submit" class="button" name="save" value="Save" />
        <input type="submit" class="button" name="delete" value="Delete" />
        <input type="submit" class="button" name="cancel" value="Cancel" />

you may direct to different url request according to button pressed with one controller.

for cancel button,

@RequestMapping(params = "cancel", method = RequestMethod.POST)