Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question on use of custom property editors - problem found?

I am fairly new to the Spring framework, developing a web application for internal use.

I'd request help explaining to me whether I've missed something.

I've registered several custom property editors using the CustomEditorConfigurer bean factory post-processor.

It *appears* that there is no code that will suck those custom editors into the BeanWrapperImpl that is used by Spring's MVC/web piece ServletDataBinder and, ultimately, the validation piece's DataBinder.

Am I missing something blatantly obvious? I can see that the constructor of BeanWrapperImpl will force-register certain well-defined PropertyEditors, but I can't find anywhere in the code (nor in tracing through with a debugger) where it would pick up the additional registered custom editors that I've defined in my application context.

I added hacked my SimpleFormController's initBinder method to suck up the custom editors from the Context and BeanFactory, and once this occurs, the Binder does work as expected - that is, when binding request parameters, my custom editors are invoked as I'd expect.

Code:
            ConfigurableApplicationContext cxt = (ConfigurableApplicationContext) getApplicationContext();
            AbstractBeanFactory abf = (AbstractBeanFactory) cxt.getBeanFactory();
            Map editors = abf.getCustomEditors();
            Iterator keySet = editors.keySet().iterator();
            while (keySet.hasNext()) {
                Class className = (Class) keySet.next();
                PropertyEditor propEdit = (PropertyEditor) editors.get(className);
                binder.registerCustomEditor(className, propEdit);
            }