Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Using Web Form with Multiple Beans

Hi,

I am relatively new to Spring and would really appreciate some help/advice as to how to implement the following problem.

I have a 'User' who is logged in and authenticated. Associated with the 'User' account are either 1 or 2 'User Profiles' representing whether the account is for a single person or a couple.

On the edit profile page the controller requests the 'User' account bean which eagerly fetches and stores as a Set the account profile beans and then the 'User' bean is added to the Model so that the View may access it.

My question is around what is the best way to manage form submissions of data where you have more than 1 child object/bean attached to your main backing bean?

For example, if the 'User Profile' bean contains fields 'gender, age, hair colour' how should that go into the form because for the beans to work correctly don't the fields in the form have to exactly match those defined in the bean? i.e. on an account where the type is couple and there are 2 profiles, how do I put 2 sets of fields with exactly the same names into the form, or more to the point, how does Spring know which choice on the front end has been made for which of the 2 profiles?

Should I be creating 2 completely seperate and uniquely named backing beans specifically for this issue? I was hoping to avoid this if possible, but am stuck getting to grips with what best practice is in these kind of situations.

Thanks,
    Paul.

Hi

I recommend a book - http://apress.com/book/view/9781590595848 - Expert Spring MVC and Spring WebFlow. Although it covers Spring 2, but the ideas, and especially form binding are general.

Shortly: if you have a "client" bean which is a Client.class object, which have two UserProfiles in list:
    Code:
    class Client {
       private List<UserProfile> profiles = ...;
    }
    then your JSP can have such form fields:
    Code: