Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• best way to pass commands between controllers

Hello everyone,
    I am a bit new to the whole spring framework, but am really getting excited about what I have been finding in this framework. I have a question about what the best practices are in regards to passing data between controllers. Here is my situation:

I have two controllers: SearchController and ResultsController.
    In my SearchController's onSubmit method I take all data from my SearchCommand object and pass it to a service which returns data to be put into a new ResultsCommand. So at this time, what should I do if I want my ResultsController's formBackingObject method to grab the command?

Do I put the newly created ResultsCommand in session and grab it from there? Or, is there a "Spring" way of doing this? I know that onSubmit() returns a ModelAndView which has a constructor which takes (View v, String objectName, Object object)… so could I return new ModelAndView(getSuccessView(),getCommandName(),res ultsCommandObject) from the onSubmit method…(resultsCommandObject is the newly built ResultsCommand). If this works, how would I get the command in the formBackingObject() on the other side?

Is there a better way to do things than these two or am I missing something?

Any help is greatly appreciated,
    Ryan

In my SearchController's onSubmit method I take all data from my SearchCommand object and pass it to a service which returns data to be put into a new ResultsCommand. So at this time, what should I do if I want my ResultsController's formBackingObject method to grab the command?
    I'm not sure of the need for a ResultsController class -- you just want to display your search results, correct? If so make up a view that will display them -- in your onSubmit() method return a ModelAndView with that view and the model (results) data you've found.

Comment