X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Spring 3.0 Portlet MVC : Event Handling Problem

I am pretty new to annotation based Spring 3.0 Portlet MVC development and have spent the last few days attempting to come up to speed.

I have 2 portlets. The 1st generates a particular event during a certain action handler which is consumed by the 2nd. This is working.

I have an event handler (onScorePersonInvocation()) in a controller (which is a part of portlet 2) in which I want to refresh a session bean before rendering. I assumed (probably incorrectly) that I could refresh a bean in the passed model and that this would then be made visible to the associated view. However, this does not seem to be the case.

My controller code from portlet 2 is below.

Code:
    @Controller
    @RequestMapping("VIEW")
    @SessionAttributes("usageInfo")
    public class UsageController {

// Services
        Usage usageService;

// User refresh ------------------------------------------------------------

@ActionMapping(params="action=refresh")
        public void refreshAction(Model model) {

refreshUsageInfo(model);
        }

@RenderMapping
        public String refreshRender(Model model) {

return "usage";
        }

// Event Handling ----------------------------------------------------------

@EventMapping("scorePersonInvocation")
        public void onScorePersonInvocation(Model model) {

refreshUsageInfo(model);
        }

// Privates ----------------------------------------------------------------

private void refreshUsageInfo(Model model) {
            ArrayList<DayUsage> usage = usageService.getUsage(5);
            model.addAttribute("usageInfo", usage);
        }

public void setUsageService(Usage usageService) {
            this.usageService = usageService;
        }
    }
    Can anybody explain why this does not work? Everything works without issue when I invoke the action handler: refreshAction().

Could this be a bug?