Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Handle Complex Forms

Hi Guys,

In the SimpleFormController, we can use the command object to get the information from the form.
    This command object is usually a POJO bean for a entity. The only problem I see is we can get (or pass)
    maximum one Command object and I don't know how to handle complex form fields ()

I am new to Spring MVC. Can somebody please help?? Thanks

Can you give an example of what you mean by a complex form field?

Yes, there is only one command object, but it can certainly have nested objects, so that you can bind a text box to, for example, person.contactInfo.homeAddress.streetAddress or some such.

Similarly, if your command object contains a collection (e.g. a List) you can bind a text box to person.universityDegrees[0].degreeType and then bind another text box to person.universityDegrees[1].degreeType.

I hope these fictional examples are helpful -- if you give an example of what would be in your form, we should be able to give you advice about how to bind that form to a single command object.

Comment

It makes sense for nested objects

Hi,

Thanks for your reply. It makes sense for nested objects as you said eg. person.contactInfo.homeAddress.streetAddress

But what if the objects are not nested and they are completely different objects - I mean not related or nested objects.

Lets say I have object obj1 and object obj2 which I need to come back from the form on submission. How can I retrieve them in my spring controller - as I can get only one command object ?

Can you please explain? Thanks so much

Comment

Yeah, I get you.

Well, you can't, really. The nature of a command or "form-backing object" is that it's just that -- a single object that contains the data from a form.

So, your options include: