Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help - how to dynamic populate a drop down list

Hi, Guys

I am new to String mvc and I couldn't find out how to implement this scenior,

The jsp page companies.jsp contain one drop down list and a output table. The drop down list contains all the categories and choicing one category will populate the output table with all the companies belong to this category, by calling getCompanies(int categoryId) in the controller.

I am trying to implement the controller by extending the MultiActionController class and I have reach to a point that populating the output company table by using the categoryId in the request.getParameter("categoryId"), but I don't know how to get this categoryId from the selected value in the categories drop down list. Can anyone pleaes help me? This must be a very easy task to do in Spring, but I just haven't got my head around it yet. Or it will be very helpful if you can point me to the rigth direction.

Many thanks,

Kai

Hello

The jsp page companies.jsp contain one drop down list and a output table. The drop down list contains all the categories and choicing one category will populate the output table with all the companies belong to this category, by calling getCompanies(int categoryId) in the controller.
    If each option in the drop list must generate a different output table, I suggest strongly use Ajax(in this case DWR) and of course Spring MVC

Therefore when your event with javascript like onchange is trigger from your droplist the client side with javascript should get the element making reference with id to get its value and call a simple controller to the server side and return a simple list and from such list fill the table in your same page

Neither DWR nor Spring MVC are not hard to learn, first try reading documentation available in google for DWR and spring documentation itself

Let me know your advance