Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Using Custom Tags with Spring

Hi there,

I am a newbie to Spring, so please excuse me if I am asking you a silly question! :wink:

We are developing our new web-plattform with Spring. We are using some of our own custom tags which need access to our database. So I should be able to inject a Dao-Bean into this custom tag, shouldn't I?!

How do I accomplish that??? It does NOT work, if I register the custom tag in the applicationContext.xml. (Probably, because Spring is using its own instance of the tag class)

For filters I have figured out, that I have to use the FilterToBeanProxy class from acegi to integrate the filter with Spring. Is there a similar solution for custom tags?

Thanks in advance!

Chris

Hi all,

I have a similiar scenario and no solution yet.
    The web framework is used as struts + spring + hibernate.

We built a tag library which access the database via spring w/ hibernate.
    Some codes are written in the ApplicationContext.xml to inject the data manager to the tag library.

The tag library did get the manager at constructor. I checked it with debugger. However, the manager is null when the tag lib is called by JSP.

But I found the manager of struts action is injected by container in every call to the action. I guess the problem is the manager not set at every call to tag library.

Anyone can kindly suggest a solution.

Thanks in advance.
    Eddie

Comment

Same problem

I'm in the same scenario. I use a custom tag that is supossed to be injected a Spring managed dao manager to access the database in search of a few records.
      I don't get this dao manager injected. It's value is always null and therefore I get a nullpointerException everytime the custom tag tries to render.
      Any ideas?
      Did any of you solve your problem?

Thanks in advance.

Fran.

Comment