Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Problem with "Neither Errors instance nor plain ...&quo

Hello all.

I am very new to Spring. I have a problem with one form and I can't find anything that looks like my problem on the forums here... So, if this has been answered many times before, please, just point me to the correct link and be merciful...

My situation is: I have one form (which works just great) that displays a list of events. A user can select one of the events to display, edit, delete, etc that event. Or, he can create a new one. Once I select one to, say, modify. I get this exception:
    Code:
    javax.servlet.ServletException: Neither Errors instance nor plain target object for bean name '1' available as request attribute
    ...only, the '1' is replaced with the ID of the record from the event table (via Hibernate). The number displayed IS the ID of the event that is being selected.

Here are my particulars:

bean definition
    Code:
    <bean id="eventDetail" class="com.dpm.controllers.EventDetailFormController">
        <property name="dao"><ref bean="eventDao"/></property>
        <property name="sessionForm"><value>false</value></property>
        <property name="commandName"><value>eventDetail</value></property>
        <property name="commandClass"><value>com.dpm.forms.EventDataForm</value></property>
        <property name="formView"><value>eventdetail</value></property>
        <property name="successView"><value>eventmaint.dpm</value></property>
    </bean>
    Form controller code
    Code:
    public class EventDetailFormController extends SimpleFormController &#123;
    	private EventDAO dao;

public EventDetailFormController&#40;&#41; &#123;
    		setCommandName&#40;"eventdetail"&#41;;
    	&#125;

public void setDao&#40;EventDAO dao&#41; &#123;
    		this.dao = dao;
    	&#125;

protected Object formBackingObject&#40;HttpServletRequest request&#41; throws ServletException &#123;