Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Form binding errors after redirect on form success??

I did a search and the closest thread I came up with was this:

http://forum.springframework.org/showthread.php?p=53160

But it didn't answer my question.

I am trying to implement the PRG (Post/Redirect/Get) pattern. I am a bit new to web dev, so I had to look it up after being told I should use it. I guess I understand why it is necessary (desktop UIs are so much simpler).

Anyway, earlier I blindly followed this direction and was experiencing these binding errors so I removed the redirect. Obviously I am doing it wrong.

What I do is this:

Code:
    <bean name="/changePasswordSuccess.htm" class="security.web.PasswordResultController">
        </bean>

<bean name="/changePassword.htm"     class="security.web.ChangePasswordFormController">
            <property name="formView"        value="/security/changePassword" />
            <property name="successView"     value="redirect:/changePasswordSuccess.htm"/>
         </bean>
    Then:

Code:
    public class PasswordResultController extends MultiActionController
    {
        public ModelAndView changePasswordSuccess(HttpServletRequest request, HttpServletResponse response) {
            return new ModelAndView("changePasswordSuccess");
        }
    }
    And then a very simple JSP with just one sentence.

Problem is I see this in the URL:

http://localhost:8080/changePassword...lt%3A+0+errors

I have seen this a number of times in various redirect scenarios and asked about it here before in different contexts. I always just assumed I shouldn't use 'redirect' because I never got an answer here - but now I understand that I should use it, but I guess I am using it wrongly??

Thanks for any help you can give me.

No replies?

Does this have anything to do with the fact that I have a validator on the from?