Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cannot Start my application in Tomcat

Hi,

I receive org.springframework.beans.factory.BeanCreationExce ption: Error creating bean with name error from Tomcat. I don't konw how to solve this because I'm a newbie to this world!

I hope someone can help me with this. I suppose something is wrong in my XML files or inte Controlller object?!

Tomcat can't find HttpServletRequest/Response classes which usually means Tomcat can't find Servlet-APIx.xjar (exact name depends on your versions and Tomcat). You need to resolve that issue, but do some research as there are different versions and you need to put that jar in the right folder - don't complicate the issue by having multiple versions of the jar in multiple places.

IIRC, at least with Tomcat 6, a version of Servlet-API.jar is in the Tomcat lib folder

Comment

Next error occurs

Seems that it was one of my errors missing the servlet-api.jar. I have changed that but here comes the next error generated by tomcat in the localhost.<date> logfile.

2008-nov-08 22:10:43 org.apache.catalina.core.StandardContext listenerStart
      SEVERE: Error configuring application listener of class org.springframework.web.context.ContextLoaderListe ner
      java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: org.springframework.web.context.ContextLoaderListe ner
      at org.apache.catalina.loader.WebappClassLoader.loadC lass(WebappClassLoader.java:1387)
      at org.apache.catalina.loader.WebappClassLoader.loadC lass(WebappClassLoader.java:1233)
      at org.apache.catalina.core.StandardContext.listenerS tart(StandardContext.java:3786)
      at org.apache.catalina.core.StandardContext.start(Sta ndardContext.java:4342)
      at org.apache.catalina.core.ContainerBase.addChildInt ernal(ContainerBase.java:791)
      at org.apache.catalina.core.ContainerBase.addChild(Co ntainerBase.java:771)
      at org.apache.catalina.core.StandardHost.addChild(Sta ndardHost.java:525)