Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ContextLoaderListener question!

hi,

I am a complete newbie to Spring. And today is my first attempt to use it. I am heavily using Struts till now. I have question regarding configuration in Spring based web-apps.

I see that ContextLoaderListener use is emphasised all over (for Spring) and there is a possibility to do it in web.xml

What with the following scenario:

1) I have an exploded (not war) application deployed, say at C:\webapps\exampleApp

2) The context configuration file is deployed on tomcat\conf\Catalina\localhost\exampleApp1.xml

3) Another context configuration file is deployed on tomcat\conf\Catalina\localhost\exampleApp2.xml using the same source

Now if i m gonna use the ContextLoaderListner, i wish to provide applicationContext.xml either for application or for jdbc or any other config for different contexts setups (exampleApp1, exampleApp2).

But as far as i see, the applicationContext.xml should always be inside the WEB-INF\ folder. But this will lead me to make use of seperate sources for different contexts. Why?

Can't i define the applicationContext or the log4j configuration files out of the sources???

At the moment, i m using the InitialisationServlet with my existing struts application to pick the resources from defined locations at the tomcat-context xml file. How can i substitute the same behaviour with ContextLoaderListener?

Thanks for your feedback.

Regards,
    pats

Re: ContextLoaderListener question!

Originally posted by pats143
    But as far as i see, the applicationContext.xml should always be inside the WEB-INF\ folder. But this will lead me to make use of seperate sources for different contexts. Why?
    The locations of context files can be defined in web.xml as context parameters.

Comment

I don't want to bundle the location into web.xml but on context file for the tomcat deployment. Because that makes my application more flexible.