Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Unit Testing using MVC and Annotations

Hi all,

I am currently using the Spring Web MVC in a project. This is my first project using this technology and I am responsible for unit and integration testing. I am confused about how to test my Controllers when I use the annotation stuff.

There is a controller called UserController. (Sorry I cant use the AT-sign in the forum, yet)
    Code:
    ATController
    ATSessionAttributes("user")
    public class UserController{

private final UserService userService;

ATAutowired
        public UserController(UserService userService) {
            this.userService = userService;
        }

ATRequestMapping(value = "create", method = RequestMethod.GET)
        public ModelMap createGet() throws Exception { 
            return (new ModelMap()).addAttribute("user", new User());
       }
    }
    There are also some more methods. Now I want to write a test case for the function createGet.

Code:
    public class UserServiceTest{
    ATTest
    public void testmethod(){
     //Test me
    }
    }
    My problem is, I don't know how to implement my tests. In some examples people called a method called controller.handleRequest(..) but where is no such method in my case. My Controller does not extend any class where it
    may get this method (maybe injected at runtime because ATController annotation).

I am sure that I can test the method createGet() directly, for example calling it and examining the received ModelMap but how can I check that the rest of the ModelAndView did NOT change? I only got the ModelMap back but I don't know the actual ModelAndView. I am confused Are there any good tutorials that cover this? I only found trivial examples.

Cheers,
    Daniel (a bloody spring noob)

I also want to know that

Hi Springs,

I also want to know how to write jnuit case for new annotated controller.

Any hint highly appreciates.

Thanks
    Cham

Comment