Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• using PropertyEditor in JSTL

hi all,

I'm new to Springframework and have a problem regarding PropertyEditor.

I have an application with JSP as frontend and MultiActionController at the other end. Having registered a CustomDateEditor at the controller I can convert well formatted date strings as java.util.Date object successfully, but when I dump the value to JSP (using JSTL tags, as below), the date format is messed up.

my controller:
    public Map doSomething(req, res, commandObj) {
    Map map = new Map();
    map.put("commandObj", commandObj);
    return map;
    }

my JSP:
    <form:form commandName="commandObj">
    <form:input path="dateField" />
    </form:form>

When I look into the InputTag I find it has in fact called for getPropertyEditor() to do the conversion, just that an suitable propertyEditor cannot be found.

So my question is, is it true that some other component, not MultiActionController, is responsible for the JSP output? If any, how can I register the propertyEditors to it?

(I've surfed on the web and can only find solutions for SimpleFormController, but no one mention about MultiActionController)

thx
    george

First of all you aren't using JSTL, but the Spring Tag Library (JSTL is the stuff from sun).

A Controller isn't responsible for the output (MVC Pattern remember?). Just register your PropertyEditors correctly and they should be picked up. Implement the initBind method as documented.

Comment

Thanks for your prompt response, mdeinum.

I'm sure it's somewhere else other than controller that should take care of this, but I have no idea what it is. I just can't find it from the document.

FYI, I am using org.springframework.web.servlet.view.JstlView, not sure if it's related but can't see anything related to PropertyEditor in it.

thx
      george

Comment

In the controller

If you register the property editor in the controller, it looks like this: