Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Passing values between forms?

Hi,

I'm new to MVC web programming (I'm mostly used to working with BL objects and server-side stuff) and my Web UI experience is just on php/perl and some perl templates, also a little jsp but very messy (almost no separation whatsoever of logic and presentation ).

So I have this situation: I'm working on a tree-like structure that can be navigated with a web interface, using one page per node. This page has all the information on the current node and links to "create new node" on the current one (let's call the current node Node A). This node browser is a form/controller and every link to other nodes calls this with the target node's id.

The "new node link" goes to a form that requires the user's input to get the information needed for a new node. My problem is that I need to get Node A's id in this page, because if I don't the controller won't know how to link the newly created node to Node A.

Currently I solved this using a form submission in the "browse node" view jsp that calls the "new Node" jsp form view with an incomplete New Node command object with just the id, and the new node controller checks for this and uses it to display either the new node form or the new node success view. That way I get the parent node ID in the form. The problem I see with this approach is that I have a hardcoded link (i.e. href="newNode.htm") to the new node form in the browse list view. I feel that this is probably not the "best practices" way since I have a hardcoded url instead of a command name (using the new node command clashes since it's already a form for another command).

So, what's the properly MVC-ish way of passing this information between separate forms?

Thanks in advance.

Why can't you just pass a parameter to the Controller which creates a new node, i.e. createNode.htm?parentId=4

Comment

Originally posted by leetgeezer View Post