Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Spring help with JSP - One value through Multiple Forms

Hey all,

I'm trying to create a view using JSP that will populate a selection box with simple name-only entities. Next to the box I want three submit buttons: Edit, Add, Delete.
    I've got the Edit and Add buttons to work. The Edit uses the value in the box, and the Add doesn't need any value. The problem is that the Delete form requries the same value in the box that the Edit form requires.
    I'm rather new to JSP, but is there a way to globally use an input value throughout separate forms? Here is what I have so far:

Code:
    <%@ include file="/WEB-INF/jsp/spring/IncludeTop.jsp" %>

<P>
    <H2>Simple Entities&#58;</H2>
    <TABLE border="1">
    	<TR><FORM method="GET" action="<c&#58;url value="/editDepartment.htm"/>">
    		<TD><B>Department&#58;</B>
                <SELECT name="departmentId" id="departmentId">
                    <c&#58;forEach var="department" items="$&#123;model.departmentTypes&#125;">
                      <c&#58;if test="$&#123;model.department.id == department.id&#125;">
                        <OPTION selected="<c&#58;out value="$&#123;model.department.id&#125;"/>" 
                            value="<c&#58;out value="$&#123;department.id&#125;"/>">
                               <c&#58;out value="$&#123;department.name&#125;"/></OPTION>
                      </c&#58;if>
                      <c&#58;if test="$&#123;model.department.id != department.id&#125;">
                            <OPTION value="<c&#58;out value="$&#123;department.id&#125;"/>">
                      </c&#58;if>
                 </c&#58;forEach>
             </SELECT></TD>
      		<TD><INPUT type="submit" value="Edit"/></FORM></TD>
      		<TD><FORM method="GET" action="<c&#58;url value="/addDepartment.htm"/>">
      			<INPUT type="submit" value="Add"/></FORM></TD>