Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Form as View - Forwarding to another Controller

Hello -

I am fairly new to the Spring framework and have been working w/ it for the past couple of months. I selected it as the web framework for an off-hours project I am doing since it touts "simplicity" and that is kind of what I was looking for. I didn't really want the bloat of Struts for this particular project and had heard good things about Spring.

Anyway, there is one simple thing that I am trying to do though that I just can't seem to find an example of anywhere.

Basically, I have a search form where I would like the search form to remain in the same view (a JSP) as the results. Well, everything works fine and dandy until after the user submits their query and I try and hyrdrate the same JSP (as the form is in) w/ my results.

The error I am getting seems to be related to the fact that the JSP no longer has access to the command object (i.e. formBackingObject) since i didn't route through the controller. I am also using the "bind" tag in my JSP.

I also tried using a redirectView to go back to the controller and this doesn't work because then I lose my request scoped data that I put into the ModelAndView w/ the search results (the form backed object is created though).

This seems simple (I know in Struts you can chain actions together to accomplish this) but I must be missing something.

Any help at all would be greatly appreciated!
    Thanks, Greg

what do you mean by this "...since i didn't route through the controller..."

Maybe post some code?

You're right in not using redirect view since that will reset your form state.

Comment

This seems simple (I know in Struts you can chain actions together to accomplish this) but I must be missing something.
      You can forward to another controller using the forward: prefix. This requires Spring 1.1.3.
      HTH

Comment