Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ${message} not displayed!

Hello,

I managed to get my first page loading with Spring, however I am finding a difficulty regarding the displaying messages set from the controller on the jsp page.

Now, I am a little new to Spring, however in the book I am reading I have the example as follows:

Code:
    <html>
    	<head>. . .</head>
    	<body>
    		<h2>${message}</h2>

</body>
    </html>
    Now my problem is that my page is loading successfully, I also placed a System.out.println in my controller to see if it is passing from it and yes it is (Was so happy to see that .

However in the page I get printed ${message} and not the message I am setting in the ModelAndView.

Code:
    return new ModelAndView("home", "message", "vavavoom");
    Now, I did not give up on seeing that I found a tutorial (as I think I said in another post) called Spring MVC Step by Step. In this one it prints the message doing as follows:

Code:
    <c:out value="${prod.description}"/>
    Now my question is, do I need that c:out thing? Or I should have my message rapped all the same. In my app-servlet.xml I also have the view resolve set as follows:

Code:
    	<bean id="viewResolver" 
    	class="org.springframework.web.servlet.view.InternalResourceViewResolver">
    		<property name="prefix">
    			<value>/WEB-INF/jsp/</value>
    		</property>
    		<property name="suffix">
    			<value>.jsp</value>
    		</property>
    	</bean>
    This seems to be working fine since my page is being find and displayed successfully (this means in the URL I insert home.htm, and it returns the data from home.jsp).

I am planning to start using FreeMarker after this, however would really like to know whether I should have any message displayed to me before passing to the next step.

Thanks and Regards,
    Sim085

You need
    Code:
    c:out