Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Coming from Struts looking for better experience

Hi all,
    I am entirely new to Spring. I am a web developer currently working with Struts based applications. I am looking more help from the framework in writing application. Struts is of no use in writing business logic and model layer. I will better use a framework than writing my own implementation for the utilities that I expect from a framework.
    I also looked at Apache Beehive. It looks to be the future framework with web services and SOA but requires JDK 5 and there is no chance of companies adopting this in the near future. Both JDK and Beehive need to be tested.
    Before starting on learning Spring I have a question on Presentation layer technology to be used. Whether I have to stick with Struts or use Spring or JSF ?. What you people use thier in REAL applications ?. I am not asking about demo applications - not a simple CRUD application.

rgds
    Antony Paul

Re: Coming from Struts looking for better experience

Originally posted by antonypaul
    Before starting on learning Spring I have a question on Presentation layer technology to be used. Whether I have to stick with Struts or use Spring or JSF ?. What you people use thier in REAL applications ?. I am not asking about demo applications - not a simple CRUD application.
    If you're porting an existing app, you can keep Struts as your MVC implementation. Spring offers good integration here. The JPetStore demo in the download has both a Struts and a SpringMVC frontend that you can switch in and out very easily and should give you a good starting point for comparison.

We are using Spring, including SpringMVC, in a global Intranet application for a (very) large investment bank. Parts of this application have been in production for almost a year now and we're extremely happy with it's flexibility and performance. Also see http://www.springframework.com/users.html