X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Command classes and actions

I'm new to Spring MVC, and need some guidance around the design of command class(es) for the following simple scenario.

I wish to create a data entry form for maintaining a small list of objects (customers). The form will be implemented as a JSP.

The JSP will contain the following fields: a drop down list for customer selection purposes, 3 text boxes for keying the attributes of the currently selected (or new) customer and two buttons labelled "Save" and "Delete".

The default entry in the drop down list will be "[Create New]". When the user initially navigates to the page this item will be selected and the 3 text boxes will be blank, ready for accepting the details of a new customer. The Delete button will be disabled. On keying the attributes for a new customer the user clicks Save, which submits the page, performs appropriate validation, saves the customer and refreshes the screen.

If the user selects a different customer from the drop-down list the screen will refresh with the details of the selected customer, ready for amending or deletion.

As can be seen, a number of actions can be invoked from the page:

1. Initialse the screen for accepting a new customer
    2. Retrieve an existing customer
    3. Save a new/modified customer
    4. Delete the currently selected customer

How is this type of scenario normally implemented in Spring MVC? I presume a subclass of SimpleFormController would be appropriate for the controller. I'm not sure about best practice for command classes however. Should I create a class called CustomerCommand (for example) with the following properties:

action - a String to specify the action (Initialise, Retrieve, Save, Delete)
    customer - holds instance of Customer (the model class for customers)