X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Binding a List of objects having multiple properties

Hello all. I'm new to Spring and I'm struggling a bit with a form binding task. I hope it's sufficient to state the problem as follows:

I have a domain class as follows (well, my real class has many more props than this)...

Code:
    public class Box {
      int id;
      String color;
      int size;
    }
    ...from my view, I send a POST request to my Form Controller which, if seen as a query string, might look like the following:

?box.id=1&box.color=red&box.size=4&box.id=2&box.co lor=blue&box.size=2

Notice that I'm not including the index of the box in the POST data. I can get things to work if I do include the index position of each Box, but that is making my view very complicated given the CRUD functionality exposed from the UI. Nonetheless...

Is it possible to have Spring treat the separate String arrays (box.id[], box.color[], box.size[]) as an array of Box objects? I was hoping the CustomCollectionEditor would be good for this, but I could not get that to work with anything that had more than one property to bind (i.e., I could trap the box.id[], box.color[], and box.size[] separately but not as a single box[]).

Every path I go down for this is quite awkward, so I'm hoping there's some Spring functionality I've overlooked that could help with this task.

Thanks very much for any help.

Don

Not unless you write you own custom binder; but I have to ask; why not simply create a Box[] on your backing object and set the request parameters boxes[0].id=xyz etc.

Of course; you need to make sure that the array contains the elements you are expecting.... In the command.getBoxes() returns an empty array, then it won't work...

Comment