X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• MVC Controller and .post

I am trying to post data to the controller using .post to take mew to the next page. I seem to be getting to the controller - the println gets printed but the view doesn't get rendered.(I stay trap on the same I am a newbie so I know there are a milllion things I don't know.

The web page post
    $.post('/mselectandpay/selection', $('#mselect').serialize() );

The controller looks like

@Controller
    @RequestMapping("/mselectandpay")
    public class MselectAndPayController {

@RequestMapping(value="/selection", method = RequestMethod.POST)
    public ModelAndView about(HttpServletRequest request, ModelMap model) {

String ID = request.getParameter("sessionID");

String numMonths = request.getParameter("member_radio");

System.out.println(ID);

ModelAndView mav = new ModelAndView("payment_info");
    mav.addObject("sessionID",ID);
    mav.addObject("numMonth",numMonths);

return mav;

}

.post is an ajax call and it won't redirect anywhere.

you should hook up the successfunction and replace some html container in your current page:

check http://api.jquery.com/jQuery.post/ where you can find further explanations, but basically

$.post('/mselectandpay/selection', $('#mselect').serialize(),function(data) {
    $('#yourcontainer').html(data);
    });

Comment

Maybe I am just doing this whole thing incorrectly. I need to basically do a submit so I get my form data back to my controller, construct a new model and return a ModelAndView , get the view (jsp page) rendered and the next web page sent out. I can't use the regular submit because their is a bunch of validation that needs to happen first so I am trying mimic the submit with a .post after the (client side) validation is complete. Obviously this is somehow subverting the MVC. It gets to my controller but the view rendering stuff is not triggered. How should I have done this ?

Comment