X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Invoking a generic java method on an entity

Hi, I'm totally new to Spring, and, unfortunately, pretty new to web applications development as well.

I created a roo application from scratch. I created an entity named Customer. I ran “web mvc all” to obtain my shiny web app. Everything fine until now (persistence methods to add/retrieve entities working fine).
    Now let’s go to the question. I have a web service that I want to invoke from within my webapp. The web service receives an input of type Customer. What I would like to implement is a new menu entry under “Create new Customer” and “List all Customers” in my web app. That item should be able to direct me to a page where I can choose from a drop-down list a customer from the ones in the database. Clicking on a button, i'd like to invoke the web service passing the selected entity (or a java class whose members can be initialized from it) to the web service.

I managed to edit menu.jspx to add a menu entry.

I edited the CustomerController adding:
    Code:
        @RequestMapping(params = "rule", produces = "text/html")
        public String CustomerController.rule(Model uiModel) {
        	pupulateRuleForm(uiModel);
        	List<String[]> dependencies = new ArrayList<String[]>();
            if (Customer.countCustomers() == 0) {
                dependencies.add(new String[] { "customer", "customers" });
            }
            uiModel.addAttribute("dependencies", dependencies);
            return "customers/rule";
        }
    I created a Java class supermarket.web.SupermarketDecisionService that will implement the methods required to invoke the web service. It has an attribute of type Customer.

I created a page rule.jspx looking like this:
    Code:
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="no"?>