Announcement Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.
User Registration using Spring 3.1, Spring Security and Hibernate Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• User Registration using Spring 3.1, Spring Security and Hibernate

Firstly I need to say that I am pretty new to Spring. I have been using it for about a month now and am sort of just getting the hang of it. However there seems like there is so much more I need to learn.

What I am trying to accomplish is a login / registration / security model for my website.

I have already went through tutorials and what I already have built and working is the base security for the site using:

Code:

<beans:bean id="securityDataSource"
    	class="org.springframework.jdbc.datasource.DriverManagerDataSource">
    <beans:property name="url" value="jdbc:mysql://
    </beans:bean>

<authentication-manager>
        <authentication-provider>
          <jdbc-user-service data-source-ref="securityDataSource"/>
        </authentication-provider>
      </authentication-manager>
    and I using this I can secure all of the methods on my site.

I have tried to create a user registration form and I was able to do so however the user registration process does not link back to the securityDataSource.

Now I am able to figure out how to take the user data and save it into the user table. But I am not sure that is the best or rather the "spring" way to go about this.

Also I am not currently using hibernate but just the spring jdbc.

So the first question and I am sure that there will be different opinions on this. Should i stick with jdbc or move over to hibernate. I feel like i should be using hibernate for this.

Secondly is there any straight forward way to link my user registration in with the user tables needed for spring security or do I need to do all of that work myself?