Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Which controller should I use?

Hi,
    I am new to Spring. Just wanted to know can I do this with a single controller.
    - when my page loads a list of students will get displayed
    - each has a Edit link
    - page has a add link
    - if click on edit form will come with populated values for that student
    - if add then same from without any values
    - should be able to bind command and validator class with controller
    - save should same for both

I could not do this in a single controller, please let me know if can be done.
    Thanks.

i also face same problem which one to select from the rich set of spring controller

by running pet clinic application i have observed that developers used one controller for one form which is subclass of SimpleFormController

if u wants to work with link then i think multiaction will be better option

Comment

I cannot use one

Hi Ganesh,
      Thanks for your reply, so you are saying its not possible to use a single controller for all the functionalities I mentioned?

Comment

hello:
        you can using the MultiActionController and it has bind(request,commandobj)
        method.this method can put page form into ur commandobj.
        and it also has a method setValidators(Validator[] validators) to set a validator class for ur commandobj.
        you should set the url with the list of student like this:
        if you want to add a student.
        http://xxxx.xxx/student.do?task=add
        if you want to view a student's info.
        http://xxxx.xxx/student.do?task=view
        and then set the student controller like this:
        Code:
            <bean id="StudentController" 
                class="StudentController">
                <property name="methodNameResolver">
                    <ref local="StudentMethodNameResolver"/>
                </property>
            </bean>
        and using ParameterMethodNameResolver.