Announcement Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.
Reducing boiler plating through better technique or existing utilities. Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Reducing boiler plating through better technique or existing utilities.

Hi All

I'm relatively new to Spring Web MVC 3 but I'm pretty ok with using it so far.
    Apologies if this has been asked/answered before but google is not returning much for me.

I'm using automatically generated hibernate entity beans (so I'd prefer no to edit them, in case of regenerating).

The problem I'm having is best explained as so:

I have a User hibernate entity and a Country hibernate entity. Upon registration, I provide a <select> list of countries for the registering person to select.
    To achieve this, I need a wrapper bean which has:

Code:
    private List<TCountry> countryList;
    private String selectedCountryId;
    getters and setters
    The jsp code then is somethign to this effect:

Code:
    <form:form commandName="register" method="POST" action="register.htm">
    etc.
    <form:select id="countryList" path="selectedCountryId" >
         <form:options items="${register.countryList}" itemValue="countryId" itemLabel="countryName" />
    </form:select>
    etc.
    </form:form>
    This is a simplistic example.
    My issue is that I hate having to create a bean for each form and populate it etc. It's huge boildeplating.
    I'd love to simply be able to supply the entity beans to the form and have e.g.
    selectedCountryId stored in another object and/or bound and available through some generic means thus eliminating the need for a different bean for each form.

Does such a thing exist? I've seen BindingResult examples, while I don't understand BindingResult fully, it doesn't seem to solve the problem (I think)?

Apologies if the question is a bit vague or wide open. Any and all comments welcome.

Thanks very Much