X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Spring WS vs Axis2

My last application had Axis2 web service and used contract last approach. We had a new requirement for creating a web service and I used Spring Web service. A discussion came up in the meeting that why use Spring WS when we already have the required Axis2 libraries to create new web service. I was convincing my team because Spring has Contract first approach which is the best way of creating and all other best points mention in the chapter 2 of the documentation.

But their point was Axis 2 also has contract first.

I would really appreciate anyone since I am really new to web services and still learning what is the difference between Axis 2 and Spring WS. I like an elaborate answer for our better understanding.

Thanks in advance.

Hi

Here's my short answer:

Although Axis2 supports JAX-WS standard, it has many proprietary quirks you have to deal with. Axis2 is an attempt to modernize Axis1 - it has developed it's own Object Model (OMElements), it's own deployment descriptors, generators, etc. The most important aspect of Axis2 (from the developer's/deployer's perspective) is that it is a Web Application (WAR) on it's own and web services are deployed into WEB-INF/services directory as AAR archives. Without judging this approach, I can say that this introduces many problems with testing, packaging (Maven), deploying, upgrading and versioning.

My real-life problems with Axis2 were:
    • accessing JNDI datasources (two or more AARs had the same jndi resource name)
    • logging (logj/logback) configuration
    • classloaders (Axis2 has it's own WEB-INF/lib/*.jars and AARs have their own JARs)
    • testing without Axis2 servlet running
    • reading generated service skeleton classes (aah! my eyes!)

The advantage of Axis2 is that it gives you access to several modules (MARs): WS-Security, WS-RM, ... but the same you can find in CXF.