Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Axis 2 vs Spring Web Service

Hi,

Im new to Spring framework. I was wondering how Spring WS is different from Axis 2?

Axis 2 generates stubs given a WSDL. So you call web services in java just as normal methods. This is nice in theory, but in practice is hard to manage the artifacts generated.
    So I switched to Spring WS. Much better.

Comment

Axis2 Vs Spring Wev Service

Well in Axis2 you can deploy Spring Web services , or you can deploy Axis2 in any given Spring container.

One of the advantage using Axis2 over just Spring WS is , that in Axis2 you have support for all the WS* (Addressing , Security etc.. ) , but I am not sure whether you get those support in Spring.

blogs.deepal.org/2008/07/spring-web-services-and-axis2.html

Comment

My feeling is that Axis2 handles attachments and SOAP headers better as you have easier access to the message context. In Spring you need to either implement MessageEndpoint (which doesn't give you the niceties of the inbuilt payload endpoints such as marshalling, JDOM etc) or add Interceptors and inject it into your Endpoint. I find this is adding a level of complexity that I don't need or want. Axis2 has a MessageContext.getCurrentMessageContext(); method that you can call within your implementation service class which is nicer.
        However, for simple payload (SOAP body) services I think Spring is cleaner. Simply create a servlet entry in your web.xml, add a spring ws XML config file with some mappings to endpoint classes and you're done.
        Note also the Spring forums are a great help. Maybe I'm getting lost on the internet but I can't find a single point to access help on Axis2 like I can by visiting these forums. For example, did you find a place to post this question on any Axis2 forum?

Comment

Originally posted by deepal View Post