Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ACEGI Authentication for a RESTful service

This is may be glaringly obvious but -

I want to write an API framework that will provide data to the outside world in XML format, as long as they are authenticated (like the Google API).

Is this possible with ACEGI? What do I have to do.

I'm really a novice when it comes to web services, but if you can point me in the right direction - hopefully I'll get it sooner than later.

Thanks,

Murali

Hi Murali,

Yes, it is possible to use Acegi with RESTful web services in Spring. I've actually just managed to do that myself within the last few days. In order to get Acegi to automatically authenticate all your requests, you'll have to change your Acegi configuration to use HTTP BASIC authentication for any requests along your APIs URL paths. (or some other authentication scheme such as certificate based authentication).

You can do this by specifying a pattern for your RESTful API paths in your filterChainProxy (ie I just copied from my default and made changes as needed).

Here's what I did :
    Code:
    <bean id="filterChainProxy" class="org.acegisecurity.util.FilterChainProxy">
    		<property name="filterInvocationDefinitionSource">
    			<value>
    				CONVERT_URL_TO_LOWERCASE_BEFORE_COMPARISON
    				PATTERN_TYPE_APACHE_ANT
    				/restful-api/**/*=httpSessionContextIntegrationFilter,logoutFilter,basicProcessingFilter,securityContextHolderAwareRequestFilter,rememberMeProcessingFilter,anonymousProcessingFilter,basicExceptionTranslationFilter,filterInvocationInterceptor
    				/**=httpSessionContextIntegrationFilter,logoutFilter,authenticationProcessingFilter,securityContextHolderAwareRequestFilter,rememberMeProcessingFilter,anonymousProcessingFilter,formExceptionTranslationFilter,filterInvocationInterceptor
    			</value>
    		</property>
    	</bean>