X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• AbstractMarshallingPayloadEndpoint and CastorMarshaller

Please pardon me for these two beginner questions. I am new in the web services world and Spring, but I have read the tutorial and successfully worked on a few simple examples.

Question # 1:
    I am now implementing a simple web service in which the endpoint extends AbstractMarshallingPayloadEndpoint and uses Castor to marshall a list of Java object to XML. I would like the web service clients to be able to get the XML file result, without having to wrap anything in a SOAP envelop. When implementing the method Object invokeInternal(Object requestObject), what type of object should I return in order to accomplish my goal? For instance, If my object is of type Car (see below). What type of OutputStream will be best? Or should I use another method?

Object invokeInternal(Object requestObject){
    List cars = ....;
    CastorMarshaller marshaller = ...
    OutputStream outputstream = new (What type ???);
    marshaller.marshalOutputStream(list, outputstream);
    return outputstream;
    }

Question #2:
    How can I activate the indentation of the XML resulted in the example above, so that I could better see the XML elements (not for production use)? I did not see any method of CastorMarshaller that enables me to set a castor.properties file in which I could write org.exolab.castor.indent=true

Question #3:
    InitializingBean.class, which is referenced by AbstractMarshallingPayloadEndpoint is missing in the spring-ws jar file. Therefore, I had to include to core Spring jar. Did I download the wrong jar, or is it the way it is supposed to be?

Once again, I am sorry for such beginner questions, but I really need some help.
    Thank you in advance.

John

Originally posted by Jkelly View Post
    Question # 1: