X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• c# and J2EE Web Service

Hi, I'm new to the Spring Framework and I want to know if it is possible to expose a J2EE Web Service using Spring that can be accessed by a C# Desktop GUI?

Thanks

martinC

yes it is

It definetly is - we are doing it where I'm working. We are using jaxb2 for marshalling/unmarshalling.
    You still can have issues however with things like namespaces in nested schemas, etc but in general it's possible.

Comment

exactly what I wanted to know - thanks! Any issues with complex objects, arrays etc?

martinC

Comment

The fact that you're using Spring-WS for your web service is completely transparent to the client - this is because of the contract-first approach favored by Spring-WS.

So with Spring-WS, you create your WSDL independent from the Spring-WS framework. I assume you're using the .NET WSDL code generator, so as long as your WSDL is correct, you'll have no problems, you can use any type defined by the WSDL and XSD specifications.

On the server-side, it's then up to you to determine how you handle the XML payload of the incoming SOAP request and how you construct the XML payload of the outgoing SOAP response.

This involves a little more than typical code-first approaches, but it also absolutely makes the question of "Can I invoke a web service published by ABC framework within a C# client?" go away. You'll never have to worry about that with Spring-WS's contract-first approach.

Comment

Ws-i

Hi MartinC,

i want to suggest that you take a look at WS-I.
          If you follow these additional rules, all is working very well.

Cheers,

Ingo
          Last edited by res1st; Sep 18th, 2006, 08:22 AM.

Comment

Thanks guys, appreciate the help

martinC

Comment

following up

Just a couple of follow up comments here.