Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Spring and WebService "architecture" Question

Hi,

I am not an expert in web service, but I have used Spring since a year for many j2ee project. I would like to know if I can use Spring for writing web services. I have 2 projects on the schedule that need Web Services/SOAP, and I need to decide how I will code the requirements.

For the first project I need to write a Web Service "Service" according to a WSDL and write a "Client" mock object for testing purpose. This application will run under IBM WAS 5.0.

For the second project, I only need to write a Web Service "Client" according to some Axis Client code. This project is already a Spring/Struts/Hibernate Web Project running on Jonas (a open source J2EE App Server).

I want to know if Spring will help me for the developement of Web Service.

For the first project, if it runs under WAS 5.0, does it means I should "code" everything with the Web Service wizard of WSAD, and Spring is not very usefull here?

And for the second project, I need to make a "Axis Client". I didn't found under the Spring tutorial (Spring remoting) any way to implement a Axis Client with Spring...

I am sorry if it sound confused, I need to read more on Web Service. But should I check the Spring way first or skype Spring for Web Service?

Thanks

Etienne
    Paris.

Originally posted by etienno
    Hi,

I am not an expert in web service, but I have used Spring since a year for many j2ee project. I would like to know if I can use Spring for writing web services. I have 2 projects on the schedule that need Web Services/SOAP, and I need to decide how I will code the requirements.
    Have you got anywhere with this ? When you use RAD/WSAD to generate a web service, it obviously creates some Spring unaware proxy code, which I guesss woulld need to be modified.

Comment

Originally posted by etienno