X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Create a jsTestDriver plugin for the SpringSource Tool Suite

As a grails developer I'd like to see a version of the jsTestDriver[1] plugin for SpringSource Tool Suite (STS). Since STS is built on Eclipse, and there is an eclipse version of the plugin, wouldn't it be easy to port it for STS? The Eclipse plugin doesn't work with STS. I can't say that I'm really surprised about that.

Since I've never done any Eclipse or STS plugin development I have no idea what the scope of this request is. I'm hoping that its as simple as creating a new branch of jsTestDriver and then changing a few configs. I'm willing to attempt to port this myself, but I have absolutely no idea where to start.

Can somebody point me in the right direction? I can't even find any documentation on creating STS specific plugins. Thanks for all your help!

[1] http://code.google.com/p/js-test-driver/

RE: Create a jsTestDriver plugin for the SpringSource Tool Suite

Well, I finally figured this out. For anyone coming after me, here's a run down of what I learned.

First, Eclipse plugins do indeed run in STS without any modification. I feel pretty dumb for not knowing this. Moving on...

Second, the jsTestDriver works after all. I just wasn't doing it right. I'm going to blame it on the fact that the documentation is a bit spotty. To clarify: when the docs say that the view is in Windows > Show View > Other... what they should say is that its in Windows > Show View > Other... > Javascript and is called jsTestDriver. Once I was able to activate the view, I was able to figure out the rest.

Good luck to all of those that come after me!

Comment

jsTestDriver plugin install appears to have failed