X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advice sought on STS install on a MacBook

I just purchased new 2.66gz MacBook Pro with 4gig memory and a 250gig hard drive.

I have never used a Mac before.

I have experience installing STS in Ubuntu under VMWare Workstation, so Unix is not an issue for me.

The Spring STS download page wants me to decide between these download options:
    Code:
    Mac OS X (Carbon)	springsource-tool-suite-2.3.0.RELEASE-e3.5.1-macosx-carbon-installer.dmg	
    Mac OS X (Carbon)	springsource-tool-suite-2.3.0.RELEASE-e3.5.1-macosx-carbon.tar.gz	
    Mac OS X (Cocoa)*	springsource-tool-suite-2.3.0.RELEASE-e3.5.1-macosx-cocoa-installer.dmg	
    Mac OS X (Cocoa)*	springsource-tool-suite-2.3.0.RELEASE-e3.5.1-macosx-cocoa.tar.gz	
    Mac OS X (Cocoa, 64bit)*	springsource-tool-suite-2.3.0.RELEASE-e3.5.1-macosx-cocoa-x86_64-installer.dmg	
    Mac OS X (Cocoa, 64bit)*	springsource-tool-suite-2.3.0.RELEASE-e3.5.1-macosx-cocoa-x86_64.tar.gz
    Will chose (32 bit Cocoa) based on the advice in this post: http://blog.zvikico.com/2009/06/ecli...or-carbon.html

The STS install is proceeding exactly the same as it does in Ubuntu. It's suggesting the following location for the STS workspace:

/Users/rdg/Documents/workspace-sts-2.3.0.RELEASE

I wonder what most people actually use here, or if most people take the default.

I decided to use: /Users/rdg/Documents/wsSts

Then on "Extensions" page I told it up install: 1) Grails; 2) Groovy-Eclipse Feature; 3) Spring Roo (prod release); and 4) STS Grails Support;

Sts seems to work okay. At least, a test Java project compiles okay. It's faster than it was on Ubuntu under VM under WinDoz.

Have just set up Time Capsule and the first Time Machine Backup has begun. I set Time Machine to exclude backing up the "Downloads". Am guessing that's how most people do it since that makes sense.