Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Work from SVN Repository

Hi,
    I am new to STS and not very familiar with Eclipse in general.

I have a GRAILS project that I am working on, that is controlled via SVN.

First, is there a way in STS to import/start a grails project from a repository?

Secondly, one way I am working around this right now is by checking out the project manually somewhere, then in STS I do
    New > Grails Project > "Create Project from existing source"
    Then I find my svn directory.
    The problem is that all my repository as like that:
    projectname > trunk (or branch, etc ...).
    That is, the actual code is in "trunk", not "projectname".

When I browse for my project in STS it asks me for a project name, and a directory. The only I managed to make it work was by choosing the project name "trunk", and selecting the directory above it. Which of course very inconvenient because now my project is called "trunk" (and I might have many projects all called "trunk").

I'm obviously doing all of this the wrong way ...

Windows 7 x64 (but using STS 32-bit, with JDK 32-bit)
    SpringSource Tool Suite
    Version: 2.3.0.RELEASE
    Build Id: 200912171331

Hi,

I notice you have been making progress on this issue on the grails list: http://n4.nabble.com/STS-SVN-td1462083.html#a1469252

If you are still hanging (as you mention on grails-users), you can try to capture a thread dump for us to look at with jps/jstack. Or you could try to start eclipse with the '-clean' option to see if that gets past the hang.

regards,
    Andy
    ---
    Andy Clement
    SpringSource

Comment

-clean didn't help.

Could you give me more details about how to get you the thread dump?

Thanks!

Comment

Use jps to discover your java processes and find out which is STS. Then use "jstack <processId>" to dump the threads.

Andy

Comment

I don't see "STS", but here is what I have ...

Code: