Announcement Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.
java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: org/springframework/asm/ClassVisitor Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: org/springframework/asm/ClassVisitor

Hi,

I'm new to Spring and trying to work through one of the tutorials while using the STS tools (Version: 2.3.0.RELEASE Build Id: 200912171331)

The tutorial in question is this one:
    http://static.springsource.org/docs/...C-step-by-step

The tutorial seems to be not quite up-to-date with recent tools and framework releases, so I'm just trying to use STS and latest Spring release and "fill in the gaps" as I go.

I installed STS with tc-server. Rather than use the "build.xml" file in the tutorial I'm running this via the "Run As > Run On Server" and I seem to have gotten this working with just the "index.jsp" page (i.e. no beans used so far).

When I start adding in Spring stuff in the web.xml files I'm running into problems.

Here's what I did:
    1) Added a single "Hello" bean as in the tutorial's instructions.
    2) Downloaded: spring-framework-3.0.0.RELEASE
    3) Put all of its .jar files into the WebContent/WEB-INF/lib/ dir of my dynamic web project. (This seems to add them to my classpath as intended)

I get this error: java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: org/springframework/asm/ClassVisitor while it is trying to initialize my webapp.

I was guessing that it should be in "org.springframework.asm-sources-3.0.0.RELEASE.jar", but when I look into that .jar file, it appears to be empty (only a META-INF directory is present).

Questions:

1) Am I doing something wrong? (E.g. is downloading and copying them into my lib directory the right way to make STS tools find the spring jars)

2) Where do I get the org.springframework.asm.ClassVisitor class that seems to be needed here.

Thanks for any help with this problem.

Picoday