Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• groovy enum problem

Hi -

I am brand new to the STS, using it for grails development. I have a groovy enum which gets the following error from STS:

Groovy:The class java.lang.Enum refers to the class java.lang.Enum and uses 1 parameters, but the referred class takes no parameters YAxisType.groovy

Any ideas on why it thinks this is a java enum and not a groovy enum? Anybody else have this problem? Thanks!

- rube

p.s. The file contents (YAxisType.groovy):

package com.vms.charts

public enum YAxisType {
    HITS("Hits", "hits", ""),
    AUDIENCE("Audience", "audience", ""),
    MEDIA_VALUE("Media Value", "media_value", "\$");

private String displayName
    private String queryColumnName
    private String prefix

YAxisType(String displayName, String queryColumnName, String prefix){
    this.displayName = displayName
    this.queryColumnName = queryColumnName
    this.prefix = prefix
    }
    }

Hi,

Are you on the latest groovy eclipse? (or which version of STS?)

Are you just running with the default groovy 1.7 compiler configuration or have you reverted to 1.6?

When you say you get that error, what resource is it against, is it against the enum or is it recorded against something else?

I created a basic groovy project, defined your enum and it compiles just fine. Are you able to do the same?

However, I half suspect there is a bug here as we have limited enum testing. I'll carry on playing to try and cause it to appear.

cheers,
    Andy
    ---
    Andy Clement
    Groovy Eclipse

Comment

Hi Andy -

Thanks for the prompt reply.

inline:

[QUOTE=Andy Clement;277129]Hi,

2.3.0.RELEASE

Are you just running with the default groovy 1.7 compiler configuration or have you reverted to 1.6?

I tried both. Neither one worked. (although i switched between them using the IDE and it says it's experimental to do it that way)