X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• help - Spring plugh in with WSAD 5.1.2

I am new in spring. I want to get and install the plug in for WSAD 5.1.2 so that it helps me in creating beans and manage XMLs. I found a thread here asking to install http//springframework.sourceforge.net/spring-ide/eclipse/updatesite/ in WSAD installing but somehow it does not work. I guess it is pretty old thread. Can any one send me the steps to do this ? I want Spring 2. Regards, Ava

Originally posted by avadesh1 View Post
    I am new in spring. I want to get and install the plug in for WSAD 5.1.2 so that it helps me in creating beans and manage XMLs. I found a thread here asking to install http//springframework.sourceforge.net/spring-ide/eclipse/updatesite/ in WSAD installing but somehow it does not work. I guess it is pretty old thread. Can any one send me the steps to do this ? I want Spring 2. Regards, Ava
    You have no chance I am afraid.

WSAD 5.1.2 is Eclipse 2 based. It's successor is RAD 6 which is Eclipse 3.0 based.

The Spring IDE plugin requires Java 5 (not supported by WSAD or RAD) and Eclipse 3.1 or above.

By the way having used WSAD and RAD extensively it's worth pointing out that Eclipse 3.2 with WTP and the Spring IDE is actually a lot more productive than RAD or WSAD, and is of course free. This is not to knock either of those products, but the huge amount of plugins from WTP, and the ability to have the Spring IDE installed, swing the balance in favour of Eclipse.

Comment

Originally posted by Paul Newport View Post
      The Spring IDE plugin requires Java 5 (not supported by WSAD or RAD) and Eclipse 3.1 or above.
      The current version 1.3.6 of Spring IDE requires at least Java 1.4.1, Eclipse 3.1 and WebTools 1.0.x. Starting with Spring IDE 2.0 the requirements are Java 5, Eclipse 3.2 and WebTools 1.5.x.

With WSAD 5.1.2 (based on Eclipse 2) only Spring IDE 1.1.1 can be used.