Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• No message found under code for locale 'en_US'

Hi.

I've been using Grails and STS since Sept 2012. I recently upgraded to STS 3.2 from 3.0, and now have a problem running integration tests that use messageSource. The integration tests run fine under grails command-line, but consistently fail when trying to run tests from within STS. I've created a sample integration test, in a new Grails project, that demonstrates the problem.

package sample
    import groovy.util.GroovyTestCase
    import org.junit.*
    import static org.junit.Assert.*
    class LocalizedMessageTests extends GroovyTestCase {
    def messageSource
    @Test
    void testLocalizedMessage() {
    String localizedMessage = messageSource.getMessage('default.optimistic.locki ng.failure', ['RECORD-PK'] as String[], Locale.default)
    assertEquals "Another user has updated this RECORD-PK while you were editing", localizedMessage
    }
    }

This results in an exception:
    org.springframework.context.NoSuchMessageException : No message found under code 'default.optimistic.locking.failure' for locale 'en_US'.
    at sample.LocalizedMessageTests.testLocalizedMessage( LocalizedMessageTests.groovy:9)

This all worked until upgrading to STS 3.2. I tried backing off to an earlier release, but still have the same problem, so I am not entirely sure when the problem got injected. I'm currently running grails 2.2.0 that I installed on its own from the grails distribution site.

I've searched the web, various forums, about creating your own messageSource bean, or adding i18n to the classpath, but not sure those solutions are needed as it had worked before, and still works from grails command-line. I just can't figure out what happened in my STS installation where I now have this inconsistency between Grails command-line and STS.

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Brian Bell.