Announcement Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.
Strange STS behavior in the creation of Spring MVC project using STS template help :( Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Strange STS behavior in the creation of Spring MVC project using STS template help :(

I am quite new in the Spring MVC world and I have a doubt about the corretct creation of a Spring MVC project.

When I run an imported project (for example the Spring MVC Showcase example downlodable form the STS dashboard), inside the browser URL bar this project have an URL like: http://localhost:8080/project-name/

For example the Web MVC Showcase example have project name: "spring-mvc-showcase" and have the following URL: for example the Web MVC Showcase example have project name: "spring-mvc-showcase" and have the following URL: http://localhost:8080/spring-mvc-showcase/

Now, my doubt is related to the creation of a new Spring MVC project using Spring Template in STS\Eclipse.

I do the following operation inside STS:

File --> New --> Project and appears to me a wizard where I can chose the type of project.

So I chose Spring Template Project, now appears to me ano other wizard windows where I can chose the specific typology of Spring Project and I chose "Spring MVC Project"

Ok, now appears to me an other wizard windows in which I have to set up:
    Project name and I insert: my-spring-project
    Top level package and I have insert: org.mycompany.foo

Ok, now I run my project on server, this don't run and inside the URL bar of the browser I have not http://localhost:8080/my-spring-project/ (as I would expect) but I have: http://localhost:8080/foo/

In the stacktrace I have the following error message:

Code:
    WARN : org.springframework.web.servlet.PageNotFound - No mapping found for HTTP request with URI [/foo/] in DispatcherServlet with name 'appServlet'