X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Developing the SpringIDE & Maven

I'd like to see if anyone can point me to a reference on how the Spring Tool Suite for Eclipse is developed.

Primarily I'm interested in how a developer would set up an environment and what the gotchas are with regard to using maven as the automated build.

I've been developing under Maven now for close to 5 years and the entire Eclipse plugin platform is a bit of a mystery to me. I have been investigating using Eclipse BIRT as a reporting engine and would like to use the ODA architecture to communicate with our back end. Where I've gotten stymied is how to handle dependencies both in the Eclipse PDE development environment and then with Maven.

Any pointers on this would be gladly accepted!

Thank you.

I'm not really sure what you're asking here. Using maven tycho to build STS is largely orthogonal to daily development of STS, but feel free to check out our github projects and see how their poms are structured.

https://github.com/SpringSource/grails-ide
    https://github.com/SpringSource/ecli...ration-commons
    https://github.com/SpringSource/spring-ide

Comment

To tell you the truth it was pretty open ended when I asked it.

I guess, based on your answer, that the projects are primarily developed using Eclipse treating the project as an Eclipse PDE project (not using it as a maven based project), then using the Maven Tycho plugins to do the repeatable builds external to Eclipse.

So more or less
      Develop as PDE project in Eclipse (not using m2e)
      =====
      Write POM.xml to interpret "manifest first" using tycho and assemble the project externally.

I know I'm broad stroking this. The reason I ask is I have only a vague idea of how maven+tycho+pde all hang together and being that I've been using the STS for a couple of years now was curious what the STS team does on a daily basis for development.